About Us

Kerala Dental Council is a statutory body functioning under the Kerala State Health Department. It is constituted under Section 21 of the Dentists Act, 1948 (Central Act 16 of 1948) to regulate the profession and practice of Dentistry in the state. Kerala Dental Council started functioning in the year 1965. It is mandatory to register in the Council for Dentists and Dental Auxiliaries viz. Dental Mechanics, Dental Hygienists and Dental Operating Room Assistants to perform procedures as outlined in the Dentists Act. Kerala Dental Council consists of 14 members – 3 nominated members, 4 elected members, 1 member from Kerala State Medical Council, Principals of Government Dental colleges and Director of Health Services as Ex-officio members. Registrar of the Council is the head of office and Secretary to Council.

The main functions of Council includes the following – Provisional registration of Dentists, Registration of Dentists, Dental Mechanics, Dental Hygienists and Dental Operating Room Assistants, Renewal of registration, Issuance of Good standing certificate and NOC, Approval of CDE programs and allotment of Credit points. In addition to Registration and related services, Council is having the power to take disciplinary action against Dental professionals in case of professional misconduct.